REVIEW| KIKO Velvet Passion Matte Lipsticks

Hello my lovelies,

So if you know me or read my blog then you know that I LOVE matte lipsticks. It’s a fact. Nude lipsticks are not really for me, if I am going to wear lipstick then I want to make a statement. I love wearing bright lipsticks, I luckily have a skin tone that allows me to wear just about any colour.

KIKO for me is an underrated brand. They have been around for a good few years now and actually it’s blooming good stuff for the price. They have a whole shop dedicated to make up – what else do you need to entice you in!?

Last year I picked my first lipstick up for their Velvet Passion Matte Lipstick range and I got another for Christmas from my lovely best friend Charlotte so I thought it was about time I review them for you..

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

First off – I LOVE the packaging. It is so slick and it has a magnetic close – yes I know I squealed too. Small things please small minds, and that’s ok I’ll take that one. The packaging is really study as well, it’s not made with cheap material – well not that it feels like that and it doesn’t feel like it will break any time soon. For the clumsy people of the world like me this was a massive tick on the list for me too!

I also love that on the lipstick bullet itself they have embossed ‘KK’ for KIKKO, it really makes the brand stand out from lipsticks by brands with similar price points as it’s something you only really see on the Burberry’s and Chanel of this world.

As these are matte lipsticks I always expect them to be drying on the lips especially when they are being applied. These however apply like a dream, there is no dragging and creates and opaque colour with one swipe. Yea – I was impressed. They are super comfortable on the lips throughout the day too which is actually quite a rarity when it comes to matte lips.

The two shades I have are (from left to right) 314  and 318 see here

IMG_3321

They are very long lasting lipsticks, they are deceiving because of how creamy the formula is – but prepared to be impressed when you try them. My only niggle that I have is that they do transfer which is highly annoying especially with the amounts of tea I drink at work all cups are stained with these colours – whoops!

My favourite shade out of the two I have is probably the orange shade (308) which is I mentioned in my Top 3: Spring Lipsticks and I am a massive sucker for an orange lipstick. But I do love the purple shade and isn’t too dark so a lot of people could easily wear this shade. If you are looking to try out purple toned lipsticks then this would be a really good one to try out.

Overall I blooming love these lipsticks. They are perfect for matte lovers but struggle with the drying formulas that come with it because these are soooo creamy. The colour pay off is fabulous and I am obsessed with the magnetic closure of them. There are sooo many colours and for £6.90 you really can’t go wrong! I will be definitely be getting some more of these and adding them to my collection.

Have you tried this range before? Whats your favourite shade I’d love some recommendations!

-A x

 

14 thoughts on “REVIEW| KIKO Velvet Passion Matte Lipsticks

Leave a Reply

